Prof. Rachel C. Evans

Rachel grew up in South Wales. Following undergraduate (MChem) and graduate studies (PhD) in Swansea University, she undertook a short postdoctoral fellowship in the Marie Curie Training network CIPSNAC, spending time in the University of Coimbra, Portugal (Prof. Maria Miguel) and the Université Paris-Sud, France (Prof. Françoise Livolant).  She returned to Portugal in 2008 with an independent FCT postdoctoral fellowship jointly between the University of Coimbra and University of Aveiro. In 2009 she cut this fellowship short to take up a contract lectureship at Trinity College Dublin, Ireland. She was appointed the Ussher Assistant Professor of Device Fabrication in 2011, elected to Fellowship in 2015 and promoted to Associate Professor in 2016. She moved to the University of Cambridge in 2017, where she holds the position of Professor of Materials Chemistry. Rachel is also a Fellow and Director of Studies (Materials) at Jesus College, Cambridge.

Awards and Honours

  • SCI/RSC McBain Medal 2022
  • ERC Consolidator Grant – 2018
  • Fellow, Royal Society of Chemistry (FRSC), 2018
  • Fellow, Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining (FIMMM), 2018
  • Featured in Soft Matter Emerging Investigators’ Issue in 2018
  • RSC/SCI Macro Group UK Young Researchers Medal, 2017
  • Dillwyn Medal for STEMM, from the Learned Society of Wales, 2017
  • Featured in Journal of Materials Chemistry Emerging Investigators’ Issue, 2016
  • Featured in ChemComm’s Emerging Investigators’ Issue, 2014
  • Harry Hallam prize for Physical/Inorganic Chemistry, 2008
  • RSC Ronald Belcher Memorial Lectureship, 2007

External Representations

  • RSC Materials Chemistry Prizes and Awards committee 2022-
  • Editorial Board of Materials Today Energy
  • Editorial Board of Advanced Photonics Research
  • Scientific Committee, RSC Materials Chemistry Conference (MC15)
  • European Spallation Source – Scientific and Technical Advisory Panel (SANS)
  • STFC Life Sciences & Soft Materials Advisory Panel, 2019-2022
  • RSC Photochemistry Interest Group, Chair, 2017-2020
  • RSC Member Networks Committee – Interest Group Representative, 2017-2020.
  • RSC Eastern Regional Steering Group, 2017-2020
  • Editorial Board of Materials Today Chemistry